Just another WordPress.com site

The 2014 Running Experiment: an update

So, we’re a month and a half into 2014, and as I wrote in an earlier post, I am trying to make it through the entire year without buying any running gear.  So far, so good.  I mean, that last pair of shoes that showed up to the house in the middle of January were ordered the day after Christmas, so that totally counts (right, honey?)

It’s a little hard to believe that I haven’t “needed” to buy anything to keep up this running habit.  Sorry, incessant marketers, but so far I’m resisting temptation.  I don’t care if your latest pair of shoes will tuck me in and kiss me goodnight (It is Valentine’s Day, after all)- I’m not buying.

That’s not to say that I’m not looking.  This is the time of year when all of the new models of shoes are starting to hit the market, and I’m always interested to see what the latest and greatest promise to be.  I am keeping an eye on things, but instead of rushing out to pick up a new pair, I’m making a wish list.  By the time 2015 rolls around (or my will power runs out), maybe there will be some decent feedback and reviews of the things I’ve been interested in.  Who knows, maybe I’ll end up making a more informed choice when it is finally time for a new pair of kicks.

I’m going to do my best to continue to use the gear I’ve already got, and I’ll keep you posted as the year goes on. Like they say, running is such a cheap sport.  All you need is a good pair of shoes, right?

Leave a Reply

