Just another WordPress.com site

This runner’s guide to 2014

Ok, folks.  I have crunched the numbers from 2013, and although I have fallen short of my mileage goal for the year, I am planning to up the ante for next year.  I had set out to run 600 miles this past year, and if I can manage to hit all of my scheduled training between now and December 31st, I will end up with 586 miles.  That’s close enough for me to feel that I have accomplished much (including a mileage gain of 175+ miles!), but far enough from my goal to keep me from busting out a 14 miler on a scheduled rest day.

The year in running, all in one place.

The year in running, all in one place.

So here’s the plan for 2014. 730 miles. That’s only an average of two miles a day. Fourteen miles a week.  When I looked at the graph of the past year, there were two major gaps in my year- following the Summer Run Streak (a great idea, but something I will try at another time of the year) and immediately preceding and following the birth of our second (and final) child.  I think that guarding myself from these gaps will help me on my way to reaching this mileage goal.

Oh, and here’s a bonus goal- how about a 100 mile month for good measure? We’ll see if I can’t get that done in January, leading up to the Tallahassee Half Marathon on February 2nd. Speaking of races, I am planning to run the Tallahassee Half in February, the Springtime Tallahassee 10K, and the Tallahassee Turkey Trot 15K for sure.  I am sure that there will be a couple of other races thrown in there, so we’ll see.

So while I may not be quite ready for the elusive 1000 mile year, I am hoping that my goals for 2014 will be enough to get me out the door regularly without being overwhelming, all the while maintaining the work, family, and grad school responsibilities.

Two miles a day.  Just two miles a day.

Leave a Reply

