Just another WordPress.com site

A Fortnight of Streaking!

I’m two weeks into my summer run streak, and things are going well.  This past week was our first week of summer school, so we were all adjusting to a new schedule around here.  Unfortunately, the weather has been less than pleasant (humid and hot- oh, and humid), so the ideal times for running are early in the morning or late at night.  Our get-up-and-go routine has been shifted earlier by a half-hour, so the early morning run times are pretty full with waking a grumpy bear two-year-old and getting everyone ready to head out the door.

Monday’s run was, as usual, the group run at Capital City Runners.  For those of you near the Tallahassee area, the folks at CCR are great about getting you into the right shoe, as well as answering lots of questions.  I have been fighting some pain in one of the S/I joints in my pelvis, and the attention I was giving the area, both by stretching and using the foam roller, was not helping.

After Monday’s run, one of the CCR staff recommended that I try out the Orb.  Basically, it’s a foam ball a little larger than a softball that allows for really targeted massage. I spent about ten minutes using it there in the store (thankfully, no footage of this, or the faces I was making in the process has surfaced).  The next day I felt great, and Tuesday’s run was AWESOME.  Not super fast, but it was one of those runs that reminds you why you participate in a sport that seems so crazy to so many.

I had to do more miles on the treadmill than I would like this week, but I did manage to get a run in each day, and my mileage was more than last week’s.  I’ll take it.

This week’s mileage: 19.1 miles

Total streak miles: 34.5 miles

Week 2

Leave a Reply

