Just another WordPress.com site

A Week of Streaking

I did it.  I managed to make it through the first week of this Summer Break Run Streak adventure.  I suppose that’s an accomplishment, given how crazy our week was.  Between finishing out one school year, preparing for summer session, a TROPICAL STORM, and the usual craziness of a week in our house, I managed to squeeze in a run each day.

I know that I am bound to learn a lot from this run streak adventure as I continue through the summer, but here are a few things I have already learned.

Embrace the early morning run. I live in North Florida, and this time of year we are into full-on Hades mode by about 9:00 am.  It’s amazing how good it feels to have your workout behind you when work starts each day (even if the possums look at you like you’re crazy for being up so early).  We’ll have to see how this goes once summer school gets rolling and I have to be at school at 7:30.

Embrace the dreadmill. If I haven’t made it clear in earlier posts, I. Hate. The. Treadmill. I am going to have to come to terms with this one in order to keep this streak going.  Luckily, my gym is open until midnight.

Embrace creativity. At a week into this streak, I can already tell that I am going to need to find new routes in order to keep from getting bored or in a rut.  Look out, other neighborhoods of Tallahassee, here I come!

Here’s the nitty gritty for this week. I managed a run each day (which I can’t remember doing before), but I kept them all fairly short to ensure that I could stick with it.  I think I will be heading into a more typical routine (tempo and/or intervals, long runs, etc.) with shorter runs on what used to be my off days in order to keep the streak alive.

This week’s mileage: 15.4

Total streak mileage: 15.4

Image

Leave a Reply

