Just another WordPress.com site

Miles is miles.

For those of you who aren’t parents, allow me to let you in on a little secret: your life will never be the same once you have kids.  Revolutionary, I know.  Don’t get me wrong, there’s not much in life that a hug from your little one can’t fix (along with all sorts of warm, fuzzy, good things about being a parent- another post for another day). I do want you to know that some of the things you take for granted (like showering on a regular schedule and choosing a restaurant without taking into consideration their weekly “kids eat free” schedule) will disappear from your daily routine.

This change in how life is lived was reinforced to me last night.  Little man was asleep in his bed singing every song he knows before finally giving up, so I headed out to the gym to finally get my run in.  That means miles on the dreadmill, which I hate passionately.  I’m not one for chatting it up at the gym, but I ended up on a treadmill next to a former co-worker.  We hadn’t seen each other in a few years, and struck up a conversation.  We talked about the end of the school year, what our kids were up to, and how crazy it was to run into each other, both trying do squeeze in a little workout time once the rest of our respective families were asleep.

Sure, there are many things that change once you become a parent.  Maybe your long evening run turns into cramming in a few miles on the treadmill.  Let me tell you, it’s all worth it to come home to your little man asleep (finally) and resting up for all the miles he is going to run (and you are going to chase) tomorrow.  I wouldn’t go back to all that free time for anything. 

Gotta go. I just actually said, “Take the cat brush out of your mouth, child!”

Leave a Reply

