Just another WordPress.com site

Run for fun?

This past Saturday was the day of the Special Olympics Area Games here in Tallahassee. This is my third year to be coaching track and field. While I never really enjoyed track (I prefer to GO somewhere when I run), I have found that I quite enjoy coaching track and field for my Special Olympics athletes. I don’t think it has much to do with the sport, but more to do with helping my athletes see their potential and sharing that with our school community.

I never get tired of watching my athletes perform after weeks of training or seeing parents’ faces light up when they view their child for what they CAN do rather than what they CAN’T. I don’t think I’ll ever get over how much fun all the athletes at Special Olympics are having. It is FUN to get out there and run! I need to remind myself of that when I’m trying to come up with yet another excuse to put off a run.

Here’s one more little nugget of motivation. I have a feeling that I am going to be chasing this guy on runs before too much longer.

20120410-160828.jpg

Leave a Reply

