Just another WordPress.com site

Image

Reloading

20120214-144048.jpg

Every eight weeks, I get an infusion. The medication I get treats both my psoriatic arthritis and ulcerative colitis. Without it, I wouldn’t be able to walk to the restroom incessantly. With it, I hardly remember that I have either of these conditions.

I am so grateful for the great treatment I get at the home health care center where I get my infusions. I get the chance to show off pictures and videos of my growing son. I get to blog. I HAVE TO sit in a recliner for three uninterrupted hours. I get to watch my blood pressure drop back to normal as I decompress from a busy day at school (especially Valentine’s Day at an elementary school).

I think I take for granted how blessed I am for the medical team I have making these infusions happen. Without my rheumatologist, gastroenterologist, and primary care doctor willing to work together to find a solution to my condition, there would be no way I could get this treatment.

The is another medical team I am grateful for. My grandfather, who, along with my grandmother, splits his year between Iowa and Texas, has not been in the best health for a number of years. He has fought diabetes and is a 20+ year survivor of a quintuple bypass surgery. He had a stroke a couple of years ago and has been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. He also has had colon cancer, which was in remission until recently.

I got a call from my parents yesterday to let me know that his colon cancer is back. As we speak, he is undergoing a CAT scan in order to determine the location and severity of the cancer and to come up with a plan of action.

So, I am keeping my grandfather, my family, and his medical team in my prayers. I realize that I am so lucky to be able to get one simple treatment to keep my medical problems in check. I know that there are so many who are not as fortunate. I hope to be able to post good news about my grandfather’s progress here soon.

Leave a Reply

